A little about me…..


My name is Amy. I am 26 years old and have been married for eight wonderful years.  No kids, usually the first thing people think of whenever they find out how many years I have been married.  2012-2013 year has been a tough one for my husband and I but I knew that my passion for education was what needed to drive me to get out of the black hole and strive for success again.  A huge part of that was on behalf of my husband, he was and is my rock and deserves a mention :).
On July 15th, 2012 and January 24th, 2013 my husband and I lost but of our children inside of my Fallopian tubes. With the lost of our two children I lost my Fallopian tubes. For a woman that was something difficult to have to hear when all along they were tell me I was a health individual.

I think that as we go through it a bit more I will be able to really explain what was the cause of such sorrow in our lives. There is so much more to a story than anyone thinks. But this class has made me feel like I am in a safe place and I can start to open up because others may have gone through the same things.

I use to love face to face classes in comparison to online classes but again my health and my sanity would not allow me to be in large crowds. I am still a bit on edge since my brief leave of absence from CSUSB but I thought it was time to come back.  Right now, I prefer online classes but I am trying to ease in back to face to face classes.  Those out there that have suffered anxiety or a great lost in life may agree with my hesitation but fear not everyone, I am trying to get past this large hurdle life threw me.

I have to be honest. I have not had anything online since MySpace was the big thing. I have no Facebook, twitter, etc. So I am a little challenged in that area of technology. I am a big texting person as well as email.  This is also my first blog :/ so I am VERY nervous.  Bare with me everyone!

8 thoughts on “A little about me…..

  1. Ah, I remember MySpace, the early days of Social Media when FaceBook was just a clunky annoying jumble. Of course so was MySpace. Come to think of it, FaceBook still is annoying! Welcome to class!

    • I am trying so hard to figure out this blogging stuff. I write things, publish them, and then i forget where it went! However, i did figure out how to leave comments. Yeah for me!!!!!! It took me a bit. Here is to hoping I do not forget how I got to leaving comments!

  2. Hi Amy,
    Welcome to the class. Last quarter I created my first blog and I was a bit nervous as well. I can tell you that now I feel more confident in using blogs. It is a good use for student-student and student-instructor interactions. I have taken a couple of ETEC classes (if everything goes well, I should be graduating next year) so if you have any questions feel free to ask, I would be glad to help. I hope to learn from you and everyone else in this course.
    -Nancy

  3. Hi Amy,

    Nice website so far:). In my opinion, if you can text, you can be successful in the online educational environment. Seriously, for me the biggest advantage to online classes is the ability to access and contribute to the course 24/7. I find that the times I have to pay attention to my coursework are inconsistant at best. I too have no Twitter, and my Facebook page only exists because I wanted to friend my wife:). I hope your coursework goes well, and you are able to move forward and put distance from that black hole you mentioned.

    Congratulations on your re-entry. It sounds like your husband is great for you.

    Until next time,

    Bruce

  4. Hi Amy, It’s good to “meet” you. 🙂 From just reading your blog I feel like we have a lot in common. I too got married young and have been married 18 years wonderful years now and I’m 37. I also had a life-changing experience a few years ago and have slowly recovered. Getting my education has been one of the goals I set for myself as I have healed. Anxiety was a HUGE issue for me and still rears its ugly head occasionally but over time I have learned how to get through the episodes and they are occurring less and less. I wouldn’t have been able to get through my issue without the support of my husband, kids, friends and faith but I did it! 🙂 If you ever want to chat you can email me directly…I’d love to be able to help if I can. My email address is lisaholmes2014@hotmail.com. I’m a good listener. 🙂 Hang in there. It gets better and in the end you’ll be stronger than ever.

    • Thank you Lisa,

      By the way, it took me a long time trying to figure out how to reply and make a second post, how i got here, NO CLUE 🙂

      I am glad someone out there understands and is not just trying to say “okay” when it is not an “okay” situation. I wish I would have met you when I was really in a dark place, I started to see the light but I guess timing was meant for meeting you now that i was a bit more clear. I am saving your email in case i need someone to talk to.

      Thank you again 🙂 your post made me smile

  5. Hello Amy,
    It’s nice to meet you. I am also 26 years old and have also been through a lot of health problems that interrupted my progress in collage. By doctors orders I had to take a few quarters online and would not be in a MA program is online courses were not available. I’m glad your first blog is with us because if you have any questions we are here for you. I am excited about reading your future posts.

    Alisha

Leave a comment