Post 4 Assignments PART ONE


Hello everyone! Sorry I am just trying so hard not to make mistakes that I just take FOREVER trying to make things as perfect as I can! I just figured out how to add links and documents to the blog post so I hope everything opens up okay :). Enjoy reading and I look forward to reading all of your blogs :).

1. Our text categorizes electronic information into four types: Textual Information, Presentation Graphics Slide Show, Spreadsheets and Databases, and Multimedia objects. Provide an example or multiple examples of effective use of each type of electronic information for eLearning. Be sure to provide specific information about what makes your indicated use “effective”. Explaining effectiveness in light of one of the media theories as presented in this session (or another media theory you prefer) is expected.

Textual Information: this is basically information that is written or printed on paper or on a computer screen. “We subdivide textual information into announcements and documents.” Waterhouse page 98.

This method of textual information is effective to me because it would allow the viewer to read a document or announcement about a particular class. Sometimes I can be too tired to read the information on the computer screen so I have the option of printing it and reading a hard copy then or at a later time.

Presentation Graphics Slide Show: this is basically information provided through visuals.

This method of Presentation Graphics Slide Show is effective to me because it does not always consist of text as stated by Waterhouse on page 98. What I like about slide shows is that you can almost make it like a movie, just having images but talking through your presentation. I have also made powerpoint presentations where I have images but recordings for each slide so even if I have to email the presentation to peers, they can still understand the slide show because of the addition of my voice.

A found a great you tube clip that basically states keep things simple with the over use of bullet points, etc. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3QwC1cl0Wa4 . I found this useful in really illustrating the presentation graphic slide show without being to overwhelmed with information.

Spreadsheets and Databases: is useful for posting students grades.

The basic format that I knew of this was just entering information and just adding it myself then input the result in another column. I use Excel all the time but I never use it in the proper way. Waterhouse states “If you design your Excel grade book properly and post it to your course site as a read only file, students who access it can play “what if” with the recorded grades to date” page 99. I seriously had a ‘what the heck moment’ because I had no idea you could do that with excel. I was amazed when I read that and I felt a big inadequate when it came to Excel because I have not used such a feature.

Since I had no idea what I was doing on Excel (after reading this chapter I discovered I am not good in this program) I decided to just Google the uses of spreadsheets and databases and found this website that was explaining their use of their data base program http://web.appstorm.net/reviews/office/ragic-makes-databases-as-simple-to-use-as-spreadsheets/ . What got me to say wow was “Users can be created that allow you to set permissions for each person individually. You can also send a link to your forms to allow the rest of your team to enter data into them as well, but only in the predefined way that you have set up, this is a really important point.” This is just something great to use in a company setting or if a class wanted to create a class project through gathering information of some sort and students had to input the information. I saw a great connection to the school system because you can allow students to get permission to insert information.

Multimedia objects: as described by Waterhouse page 99 “We use the term multimedia objects to describe elearning resources that consist primarily of still pictures, moving pictures, or sound, or some combination of these three.

These are effective to me because it just gives another way of learning a specific thing. Some people are more visual learners or auditory learners so it is important to provide other sources of students gaining knowledge. Personally speaking, I volunteer in a kindergarten classroom and I have seen students respond to moving pictures, still pictures, and sounds rather than just text being read or shown on the projector. I have seen teachers just try and be dictators but that does not work with all students because every student is different and needs different types of communications.

2. Our text goes into some very specific detail on the proper formatting of textual information. Explain what you believe to be the most important guidelines for your use of textual information that are provided in the text and then create a sample text document (other than an announcement) that demonstrates the best practices of formatting textual information. Be sure to explain the purpose of the document and who the intended users are if that isn’t obvious from the document itself.

I like to keep things simple but that I can see what the points are and have something to accomplish. I think that the most important guideline for my use of textual information is the bulletin list. “The use of ample white space and bulleted lists greatly improve students’ ability to process text quickly on their computer screens” Waterhouse page 102.

This class has just made me enjoy bulletin points even more because the professor provides what we have to do in simple points yet I learn so much!

I think that if I had to make a document I would make one for parents of a future school I may teach at. I want to go into the elementary level so my focus is how can I use what I am learning in all my classes and apply them to my future classroom. I am intending on becoming a teacher in dual immersion so my focus would be on catering to those types of parents/students when creating my document. I have seen some of the websites that I mentioned in my documents used in the classroom and students pick up on the language very easily and it makes students want to learn another language rather than just be there for the sake of being there.

Welcome Parents

3. What is the difference between synchronous and asynchronous communication as it is used in eLearning and how do you choose between the two for a given task?

Synchronous communication: is a “learning environment is one in which students and instructors engage each other at the same time but not necessarily at the same location” Waterhouse page 45

Asynchronous communication: is a “learning environment in which students and instructors are engaged in “anytime-anyplace” learning. Students do not have to be engaged in a learning activity at the same time” Waterhouse page 45

The way in which you would choose between the two for a given task would really have to depend on what the task itself is. Sometimes synchronous communication works better than asynchronous because it seems to be like a face-to-face but does not take place in the same location. The teacher has to decide which method is best to use and when and if to use both methods is beneficial to the class.

4. What technologies does your CMS/LMS have to support synchronous communication?

Since I have not had any other experiences in CMS/LMS technologies I used blackboard as my CMS/LMS device. What clackboard has to support synchronous communications is: collaboration section, group pages (if applicable), and chat/blog sections.

5. What technologies does your CMS/LMS have to support asynchronous communication?

Again, my CMS/LMS technology that I have most familiarity with is blackboard. So with blackboard, the asynchronous communication that is available are: discussion board, email, calendar, and the announcements.

6. Describe a task or assignment you could use in an online class that would use either asynchronous or synchronous communication. Explain the task or assignment, identify the technology you would use to support the activity and explain why you chose that technology. Explain what you would do to ensure that the activity was successful.
I would use asynchronous communication for my task.
As stated by Waterhouse page 45 Asynchronous communication is a “learning environment in which students and instructors are engaged in “anytime-anyplace” learning. Students do not have to be engaged in a learning activity at the same time.” I like this method because it does not matter where or when an activity is done but rather that you, the student, has the option to be anywhere in the world and still be able to have and participate in a class. Sometimes life does not permit us to be at face-to-face classrooms or to even be a part of s synchronous class so it is important to remember that when create an online class with online tasks.

I think that for my activity I would separate my class into groups and assign each group a particular country to research. Within that group I would have subcategories such as types of food, customs, traditions, homes, etc. and the group would have to split up the work on what they will be working on. Of course, it is important to remind students to communicate with each other so they are update with the information they are gathering. Setting up deadlines is also something to keep in mind when creating this type of activity because you do not want students to wait until the last minute to have their information.
The way in which I would ensure that learning has taken place would be to stay in contact with the groups and ask for feedback on their peers. In order for students to feel comfortable about giving feedback I would do one-on-one communications so that they would feel free to express how the assignment is really going. Also having peer evaluations at the end of the assignment would be something else to consider because it gives both the instructor and the students feedback on their performance.

3 thoughts on “Post 4 Assignments PART ONE

Leave a Reply

